ALAA Roots — An Unofficial Site

December 8, 2011

2011.12.08: RE: To 1199 Members

Filed under: 1199 Alliance,ALAA History,Collective Bargaining,Key Documents — nyclaw01 @ 12:14 pm

From: Korotzer, Daniella
Sent: Thursday, December 08, 2011 12:14 PM
To: 1199 Members; ALAA MEMBERS
Subject: RE: To 1199 Members

Absolutely.

I’ve read most of the e-mails regarding this past vote (although I have to admit I felt the debate had spent itself about half-way through) and weighed my decision carefully, often changing my position from day to day and, ultimately, at the last second. But I am sincerely perplexed as to how this became some kind of litmus test as to whether one supports 1199.

I have stayed out of the debate around the vote – largely because as a senior attorney I had such mixed feelings about it – but also because, frankly, I think the e-mail debate went on too long, got too negative and went off into odd tangents. But now I am disturbed to hear that some 1199 members would think that supporting them is “unpopular” in ALAA.   Huh? How did we get to this point via this vote?  I can’t really see the connection, and I can say I never heard an anti-1199 word come from any ALAA member’s mouth or e-mail.  From my reading of the very many e-mails leading up to the vote we were never asked by 1199 union leadership, or even by individual members, to vote a particular way – or to even refrain from voting.  I know that I would have voted as 1199 would have asked, as I believe many others would have – but it just wasn’t clear what, if anything, we were being asked to do or not do.

The idea that within ALAA it is unpopular to support 1199 is so bizarre to me.  I hope that no one really believes that.  I’m sorry this vote left such a bad feeling among so many.  I don’t have anything else to add and am unlikely to respond to any further e-mail threads.  I wish all my comrades in ALAA and 1199 a very happy holiday season,

Daniella

________________________________________

From: [K.]
Sent: Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:34 AM
To: 1199 Members; ALAA MEMBERS
Subject: RE: To 1199 Members

I’ve been on trial while this issue was being hashed out over the e-mail, and haven’t read everyone’s positions and arguments, but I’m quite sure the recent vote cannot be boiled down to “whether you support 1199” or not. Painting it as such is divisive and destructive, and the wedge it might create is probably exactly what management wants. WE ALL support 1199, AND ALL THE SUPPORT STAFF.Enough already.

______________________________________________

From:   [G.]
Sent:   Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:03 AM
To:   1199 Members
Subject:   RE: To 1199 Members

[W.] is not the only one who feels that way Noha… I and others do as well… too bad not many more of your colleagues don’t feel as you do…. Seems to me ALAA is  much different since the Michael Letwin- Robert Zuss Era.. [G.]

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

